My Bag | Login | My Account
Have questions? E-mail us!
US orders 1.866.630.4569
Store Locator

Live Chat

Afterglow Cosmetics: First Certified Gluten Free Makeup

Afterglow Cosmetics is the first makeup line to be Certified
Gluten Free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO).

The GFCO's purpose is to inspect products and manufacturing facilities for the presence of gluten. According to the GFCO’s website their certification seal, “stands for the independent verification of quality, integrity, and purity of products. Products carrying the GF logo represents unmatched reliability and for meeting strict gluten-free standards. GFCO is the leading gluten-free certification program in the world.”

Visit GFCO’s website for more information.

View our Certified Gluten-Free Products here.

Common Gluten Free Cosmetic Questions

Q: Why do we make ALL our products gluten free?
A: We have a very personal story behind our gluten free products. Creating fabulous, gluten free makeup is a personal mission for Afterglow Founder, Kristin Adams' whose mother and sister both have Celiac Disease and must avoid all things containing gluten–including cosmetics and personal care products. She has watched them struggling for years to find truly natural and gluten free cosmetics. When Afterglow Cosmetics was born, naturally, Kristin made sure that none of the ingredients used to formulate her line of cosmetics contained gluten.

Q: Are your gluten free cosmetics made in a gluten free facility?
A: Yes, our gluten free cosmetics are made in a 100% certified gluten free facility. This extra measure ensures there is no danger of cross contamination between products.

Q: If I don't see the word 'gluten' on my cosmetics' labels, does that mean that they are gluten free?
A: Many gluten based ingredients used in cosmetics are not listed as 'gluten' on the ingredient label.

We suggest that you purchase your products from reputable companies that communicate that they understand what gluten and Celiac Disease are and thoroughly communicate their commitment to providing gluten free products.

Q: Your cosmetics contain Vitamin E. I thought Vitamin E , listed on ingredient labels as tocopherol, was primarily sourced from wheat?
A: Yes, most Vitamin E found in cosmetics is derived from wheat sources and contains gluten. Many manufacturers may not even know what source their Vitamin E actually comes from. Afterglow Cosmetics sources only gluten free ingredients and uses Vitamin E (tocopherol) derived from organic cotton seed oil and organic olive oil. You can view our complete ingredient lists on our Ingredients page.

Q: Why is it important for someone with Celiac Disease to avoid gluten laced makeup?
A: Celiac Disease is a digestive disease that damages the small intestine and interferes with absorption of nutrients from food. People who have Celiac Disease cannot tolerate gluten, a protein in wheat, rye, and barley. Gluten is found mainly in foods but may also be found in everyday products such as shampoo, medicines, vitamins, lip balms, lipstick and other makeup. It's said that the average woman ingests up to four pounds of lipstick (and other lip products) over a lifetime. Many lipsticks, lip gloss and lip balm available today contain wheat based ingredients that could negatively affect the stability and health of someone with Celiac Disease when ingested.

All of Afterglow's products are certified gluten free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization. We have countless customers with Celiac Disease that negatively react to the gluten in their body care and makeup products. These customers have found that Afterglow is the only brand they can safely wear without a reaction. If you have Celiac Disease, you may think that the ingredients in your cosmetics won't affect you. They may or may not. The real question is, why wouldn't you switch to a line of cosmetics that is beautiful, all natural, good for your skin, good for your body, and, (just in case!) certified gluten free?

Q: Why would wheat be in my cosmetics anyway?
A: Gluten derived cosmetic ingredients are common in many cosmetics. Gluten is found primarily in wheat, but also in rye, malt, oats and barley. These gluten cosmetic ingredients are used in cosmetics as binders to help the ingredients stick together and are also used as emollients in the form of gluten derived oils.

Celiac Disease and gluten intolerance are primarily an issue related to the auto-immune system of the intestines. However, much of what we put on our skin goes in. For a person suffering with Celiac Disease and the inability to digest gluten, even minor contact with gluten-laced cosmetics could possibly contribute to discomfort. This may be even truer when one takes into consideration that many lipsticks on the market contain gluten as a cosmetic ingredient. This is a sobering thought for a woman suffering with gluten intolerance when it is said that the average woman eats pounds of lipstick over a lifetime. So, why not make it edible and gluten free at the same time?

Please contact us if you have additional questions! Click HERE to submit a question or give us a call at 866.630.4569.